Nature hunt – spring color walk

I love going on nature walks with the kids. I keep thinking there’s not much to see in suburbia, but I’m always surprised by what I find. Today my four year old and I went on a nature color walk. I thought it was very cool that the ducks helped me get some great colors.

These pictures make me happy.

Red tulips

Photobucket

Yellow daffodil

Photobucket

Orange duck feet

Photobucket

Orange and white daffodil

Photobucket

Pink tulips

Photobucket

Magenta…um…dogwood (?) buds on the trees

Photobucket

Purple grape hyacinth.

Photobucket

Chartreuse green on a brown tree trunk

Photobucket

Emerald Green on a male mallard duck:

Photobucket

White flowering crabtree

Photobucket

Gray sky

Photobucket

We didn’t see blue today, but we did see the sapphire blue streak on the mama duck outside the girls school last week.

Photobucket

And, technically, we didn’t spot a great example for black on our walk, so I cheated a little and took a picture of our black and white cat, Tasha.

Photobucket

I printed out all these pictures and put them in a photo album for us to enjoy. I should make copies and give them to my toddler/preschool aged nieces and nephews. I think this would make a great gift!

[This was so positively successful and enjoyable for the girls, that we later went on a scavenger hunt for shapes too (follow the link for the pictures to that one)].

If anyone can verify/identify the purple flowers and magenta buds on the trees, please leave a comment. Thanks!

***
I just wanted to post the color matching game I made out of these pictures from my other blog (The Wonder Years). You can see them here:

Color Matching Game

This entry was posted in Biology, Fun with color, Nature Study. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Nature hunt – spring color walk

  1. Lisa says:

    I love the blue on the mama! And chartreuse on brown is my favorite spring color combo! Beautiful.

  2. theexplorationstation says:

    Thank you :). I was so shocked that I was able to find a lot of colors today.

  3. Julia says:

    We may try this idea today. My 4 year old has one of my old digital cameras, so he might like to try and take pictures. The tree might be a “tulip tree”- a pink magnolia. The purple flowers might be hyacinths that haven’t opened up all the way. They probably smell deliciously sweet.

    The blue on the duck is quite a surprise- you don’t really notice it unless you’re looking for colors.

    I’ve enjoyed looking through your blog. Thanks for all you do!

  4. theexplorationstation says:

    Julia – thanks for the ideas –

    Hmmm, while the Tulip Tree is possible, I think these buds might be too small for that.

    I saw the homeowner on the way back from a grocery shopping trip and meant to ask him what kind of tree it was when I was done, but I forgot too. Hopefully I can find him out again.

    I’m still thinking the purple flowers are purple heather, as it looks like this (but different color):

    http://www.theflowerexpert.com/content/growingflowers/flowersandseasons/heather

    Enjoy the color walk if you go on one!

  5. theexplorationstation says:

    So, I just found out that the purple flowers are probably not heather, but grape hyancinths when I came across a homeschooling lesson on flower identification. Pretty neat. I don’t think these are going to ever open up, I think these just stay the way they are.

  6. kangaroo says:

    i love this! check out my blog if you have a moment–i found you because i googled ‘color walk’, wondering if anyone else does what we’ve been doing! our version is a little different. yours is just lovely.

  7. theexplorationstation says:

    Thank you Kangaroo and welcome. That reminds me to show pictures of the color matching game I came up with using these pictures for my youngest. Wow – I just looked at your blog and it’s pretty amazing – I love your color walk too!. I’m going to link you up to one of my blogs – probably the one called The Wonder Years – because I do more crafty/learning stuff there too.

  8. theexplorationstation says:

    Thank you Starr, I appreciate the comment and being included in your link!

Leave a Reply

