The sunflower project.

We got a lot of sunflower seed packets this year for Easter, so I figured I’d plant a few of them with the girls.

The seeds look just like the ones you eat with shells on them.

I wondered what happened to the shells when they started growing and apparently, the sunflower seed shell cracks open and the plant germinates from there:

Photobucket

Photobucket

The shell eventually falls off and you have the plant leaves starting:

Photobucket

Apparently, I need to be finding a place to plant these now into the ground, because they will develop large taproots and especially so since they are giant sunflowers.

Here is a good website for some sunflower growing tips.

This entry was posted in Biology, Nature Study. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The sunflower project.

  1. Jennavieve says:

    Oh cool! We used to do this every year.
    The bees and birds love them!

  2. theexplorationstation says:

    I’m a little nervous about how giant they are going to get (supposedly 20ft high). Yikes!

  3. Erin says:

    We are trying a sunflower house this year. Generally the things I try to grow don’t go over too well, but I’m hoping this one does, because it’s such a COOL idea, and I know the kids will love it!

  4. theexplorationstation says:

    I’m so sad that our giant ones got eaten by the bunnies. I have to do something different next time…and for now, try planting the regular size ones, because I think the giant ones take 4 months to grow.

Leave a Reply

