Solar Science

I have neglected my science blog for far too long, but I’m hoping to start getting back into a regular posting schedule, particularly since I’m interested in starting a Saturday Science Club.  We’ll see how it goes.  =)

But yesterday, my daughters and I went to the park with one of their friends and I decided to take along one of our science kits I’d been meaning to try out.  It was a solar science kit.

 photo P1230025.jpg

I decided to have the kids try out the Solar Furnace.

 photo P1230028.jpg

How does work? According to the booklet, solar furnace is a spherical parabolic mirror which reflects parallel light rays to a single point – the focal point.
 photo scan0114.jpg

I had the kids test it out for themselves.  They did feel the warmth.

 photo P1230030.jpg

I had mentioned how neat it would be to try the burn a feather activity, but that it was too bad we didn’t have a feather.

 photo scan0113.jpg

My daughter’s friend piped up, “I know where there is a feather!”  And sure enough, she came back with a great one.  So we tried to use the solar furnace to singe a feather.    For a while, I had my doubts because nothing was happening.

 photo P1230031.jpg

But after a while of holding it steady, we were able to focus the light long enough and it started to smoke and singe the feather.  It was so neat!

 photo P1230033.jpg

This entry was posted in Solar Furnace, Solar Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

